WEDA Legislative Leadership

Legislative Committee

The WEDA Legislative Committee has a key role in the association's advocacy efforts in the Wyoming State Legislature.

In 2023, the committee meets weekly at 10:30 a.m. on Fridays. via Zoom.

To join the calls and committee, e-mail, Sara DiRienzo, WEDA executive director and lobbyist

WEDA Legislative Co-Chairs

  • Betsey Hale, Cheyenne LEADS
  • Michael Howe, Enbridge
  • Chris Brown, Wyoming Associations and Government Affairs Network

Lobbyist: Sara DiRienzo, WEDA Executive Director

Sara DiRienzo |

Sara DiRienzo, MA, is the executive director and lobbyist for the Wyoming Economic Development Association. On behalf of WEDA, Sara advocates for policies that drive economic development, support innovation, develop a skilled workforce and invest in local communities.

Sara brings 15 years of experience in public policy, communications, media and is an award-winning writer. She has worked at the University of Wyoming and within Wyoming state government delivering impactful, dynamic results for the Cowboy state and its citizens. Her expertise includes government relations, public policy, strategic messaging, media relations, crisis and digital communications.


Phil Christopherson
President, officer


Phil is a Wyoming native and has lived in the state most of his life. Phil graduated from UW with a BS degree in Computer Engineering. After graduating Phil and his family moved to Seattle Washington where Phil worked as a design engineer and Project...

Kayla McDonald
Vice President - Education committee chair


Kayla McDonald is the Economic Development Specialist for the Sweetwater Economic Development Coalition (SEDC) in Sweetwater County. Kayla was instrumental in the development and creation of the countywide economic development organization in 2016 which is a partnership with the City of Rock Springs, City of...

Kevin Kershirsnik
Treasurer, Officer


Kevin has lived in Wyoming since 1995 and his relatives have lived here for generations.  He has an MBA from the University of Wyoming, two engineering degrees, and a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Wyoming.  He has been successfully working for and managing manufacturing companies...

Betsey Hale
Secretary- Legislative Committee Chair


Betsey most recently served as the President of Three Rivers Development Corporation located in Corning, NY. Three Rivers is a 54-year-old economic and community development organization that serves a three-county region in the Finger Lakes Wine Country. Prior to her work in New York State,...

Sharon Fain
Board Member


Sharon Fain currently serves as Rocky Mountain Power’s vice president for Wyoming. Fain oversees Rocky Mountain Power's Wyoming business plan, directs customer and community relations, economic development and supports regulatory and legislative activities. She is an International Economic Development Council (IEDC) Certified Economic Developer (CEcD) and was awarded...

Andy Gramlich
Board Member


Andy is a retired healthcare executive who serves on a number of business and community organizations. Experienced in strategic planning, business development and recruiting as well as grant writing, review and administration. Former President of Leader Corporation and currently a member of the Lander Economic...

Brayden Connour
Board Member


Brayden Connour, CEO of Goshen Economic Development. Brayden started with Goshen Economic Development as the Business Development Director in August of 2019 and took over as CEO in January of 2022. The biggest achievement to date is passing the ¼ cent sales tax for economic...

John Marshall
Board member


John Marshall is President at Golden Shovel Agency with many years of experience in financial analysis, sales and business development in the privately owned business market, specifically manufacturing, real estate development and the construction industries. He is a member of the Mid-America EDC, NREDA, SEDC,...

Jon Conrad
Board Member


Jon Conrad currently serves as the Environmental and Governmental Affairs Manager for Tata Chemicals in Green River Wyoming.  Jon has been in Soda Ash manufacturing holding various leadership positions over 27 years. Jon serves on the Uinta County Economic Development Commission and as the Chairman...

Josh Dorrell
Ex-Officio Member


Dorrell has served as Senior Vice President of Technology Services and Solutions with Laramie-based Trihydro Corporation since 2015. The engineering and environmental consulting firm started in Laramie in 1984 and today has 22 offices nationwide, and staff resources in 28 states. Dorrell also teaches...

Robin Sessions Cooley
Ex-Officio Member


Robin Sessions Cooley Ex-Officio Member Wyoming Director of Workforce Services Governor Mead appointed Robin Sessions Cooley to the Public Service Commission beginning March 16, 2017. Ms. Cooley graduated from the University of Wyoming, College of Law, in 1992, entering private practice in...

Ron Gullberg
Ex-Officio Member


Ron Gulberg joined the Wyoming Business Council in March 2014 as communications director following a 25-year daily newspaper career. He was promoted to business development director in September 2017, where he managed the business relocation and expansion, finance, market development and agribusiness efforts, and the creation of...

Sara DiRienzo
Executive Director

Board, Legislative

Sara DiRienzo is Wyoming Economic Development Association executive director. Sara works to grow and develop WEDA, enhance the association’s capacity as well as build community connections and relationships. She serves as the lobbyist for WEDA, advocating for policies that drive economic development, support innovation, develop...

View staff by department:
Board Legislative